The club served as the Coast Guard Auxiliary base for Boston Harbor during world War II. The Auxiliary boats guarded all port entrances, etc. The year 1913 brought a change in racing boats at Winthrop through the construction of six one design sail boats known as the «Winthrop 15-foot Class».
This was made of a lump of stone, spindle shaped, inset into the end of a cleft handle and then lashed in place. The other type of tomahawk consisted of the same cleft stick with a thin wedge of stone lashed in place. This stone was quartz or flint, split as much as desirable into a plate, and then with the edge chipped off painstakingly and finally whetted to a cutting edge by endless abrasion against another «hone» of the same or eco sober house complaints a harder stone. Some of these tomahawks were beautiful, light, well-balanced and formidable weapons. Women cared for the houses and the children, wove mats and made boxes of bark, they prepared the bark coverings for the houses, they gathered seeds, roots and berries, they tanned the skins and made leather and, amongst many other chores, cultivated the gardens. It is common to think that the warriors loafed while the squaws worked.
This arrangement, to step out of chronological order for the moment, dates back to 1831, when the town of Chelsea was annexed to Suffolk County, which originally was what is now the City of Boston. At the moment the two cities and town to be which made up Chelsea had a population of 771, so the tax returns from the starveling town were insignificant. No City of Boston father then ever dreamed that within a century the town of Chelsea would become two cities and a town with a combined population of about 125,000 and would thus comprise a rich source of taxes. It soon was evident that the assets of the new town of Chelsea Alcohol detoxification were inadequate to support a government and so, in 1742, Chelsea petitioned for the annexation to their corporation of Hog and Noddle Islands — which is now East Boston and Orient Heights. The petition to the General Court alleged that the area was necessary for the welfare of Chelsea and that the two islands were always considered part of District 13. Hence Chelsea was being unjustly deprived of an area which it legally owned. At the same time, Chelsea itself was split by a petition from the northern part of the new Town, the Pan Handle, who wished to secede and join the large and prosperous town of Saugus.
His spoons, bowls and trenchers he just cleaned by wiping out with grass or hay and then, on occasion, scouring them with sand and water. Soap could be had, of course — the settlers made it themselves from grease and wood ashes — but it was seldom an item included in bachelor housekeeping.
Some clay and pottery vessels were made, too, but the Indians lacked heat enough to bake clay properly and their pots were both clumsy and fragile. Meat and fish were cooked by being turned on a spit over hot coals. For ovens, a hole was dug in the ground, heated by an intense fire, and then, the food was placed on top of the coals, properly protected, and the hole covered over until the food was done. Sometimes fish, for example, would be wrapped in clay and thrust into a fire. When the fish was done, the clay would be cracked off, taking the skin with it — and there the fish would be ready to eat. Naturally, when traders and settlers came, the Indians eagerly traded off land and furs for copper and iron pots.
The location of the original clubhouse was chosen on the north shore of the Highlands. The site was blessed with a deep water basin but storms wrecked many of the members’ boats and the others quickly moved their craft to the safer precincts of the inner harbor. August 2,1930, the Town of Winthrop held its Tercentenary celebration in which the Pleasant Park Yacht Club took a prominent part.
In due time, under the direction of Father Fitton, a modest Chapel was built at Point Shirley, described as being located close to the water’s edge. In the year 1866, when the Copper Works dosed, the Chapel was placed on a scow and moved to East Boston. The beginnings of Catholicity in Winthrop actually go back to the days before the Civil War. In the years just before the Civil War and until the year 1866, there was at Point Shirley an industry known as the Revere Copper Works.
We have been so twisted and broken in the tumultuous years that it will be several generations before an adequate historical analysis of what has happened to us can be attempted. Next came the twinkling twenties when, like adolescents, we all went on a merry spiral of pleasure and profit, each according to his opportunities and desires. No matter what stock a man purchased, no matter what real estate he acquired, prices went up and up — until the crash came that dreadful day in 1929.
There were 31 families, some of which were then not Floyds, Belchers or Tewksburys but the three families accounted for 29 of the 31 families. Of this number 15 were Tewksburys with 79 members — or more than half of the total population; 9 were Belchers with 40 members; and 5 were Floyds with 23 members. Out of the total population of 156, the three old families thus accounted for 142 persons. Even proportionately the three old names are vanish-ing as more and more people move into town from East Boston, Chelsea, Revere and elsewhere. Cheseborough did not long remain a brother, as he was called in his writs, although he advanced in circumstances, soon becoming, for example, an official of the General Court in the matter of land allotments, and, also a commissioner to assess taxes.
sees a world where every person in recovery has access to a supportive, healthy, and safe home environment built on respect, focused on recovery, and lead by peers. Residents live together as a family to develop the tools and strengthen their character in order to live free from substance abuse. These homes allow for independence while guided by a set of recovery-focused Addiction house rules, standards, and expectations. Visit the website to learn more about their sober homes. We were founded jointly by , an operator of sober houses in Massachusetts, and Vanderburgh Communities, an organization supporting sober living and recovery home operators. If you would like to add a listing to our sober house directory, please let us know.
American Infantryman C 1777 By Chris Collingwood
When the «Missing Link» was finally built, providing a double road, — the outer for pleasure cars, the inner and lower road for commercial traffic, — Winthrop had a first class road available out of town for the first time in 300 years. Beyond the old Winthrop Beach Station of the former Narrow Gauge, the Beach runs along to the base of Cottage Hill — or Great Head, as the abbreviated drumlin is properly known. This was one of the first real estate developments in Winthrop, after Playstead and Ocean Spray, and the houses now stand on relatively small lots of land. Many of them are small and of the cottage type, being in part summer cottages made over into permanent homes.
Sullivan’s Castle Island, 1970s
The red Indians in the North East were members of what is called the Algonquian Nation — an immense but very loose con-federation of tribes. Practically, the only reason for such a nation being established by scholars is that the tribes so united spoke a language with a common or Algonquian stock. The early history of New England is bloody and bitter with its series of Indian wars — with the Indians eventually being instigated and led by first the French and then the British. It is one of the ugliest chapters in human history — but it must be read in light of the fact that conditions, social, religious, economic and moral, have changed greatly since the last warwhoop died away and the Indians were herded into reservations. In passing, it may be of interest to know that the Indians of New England, after being reduced to a mere fragment, are today increasing in numbers again. There are more Indians in New England now than there were in Civil War days. There can be no doubt that, according to their own lights, the Indians were justified in attempting to retaliate upon the white settlers.
Orchestra conducted by Mr. Willis found a rival in the band which played on Fort Banks field at the Thanksgiving Day game, instrumental music classes were started. Safety campaigns of 1928 warned not only of automobiles but of the newly electrified trains on the Narrow Gauge road. Such was the situation when Frank A. Douglas became principal of the grammar school in 1890. At the close of that year the town had eleven separate Alcoholism in family systems «schools» meeting in three buildings, staffed twelve teachers including a special teacher in drawing. The total membership was 527; average attendance 396; and the high school graduated eight, the grammar school fifteen. Like its associate institution, the Savings Bank has attracted the very best of Winthrop’s financial talents and, similarly has enjoyed the services of officers and employees who have devoted many years.
These vendors also served all Winthrop homes as they made their creaking way to and from the Point. The action, which took place only a few miles off shore, and all but under the shadow of the guns of a British fleet lying at anchor off Nantasket, had to be swift and decisive. Mugford’s tiny ship could never hope to escape from the fleet which would come out like angry hornets at the first sound of cannon. The Hope did surrender without much fuss and Mugford sent a prize crew aboard. The British fleet, as anticipated, began chase but Mugford, headed north in great haste. Anywhere else, the British would simply follow him in and retake the Hope and probably hang Mugford and his crew on the spot without the formality of a trial.
The high school eliminated post-graduate students, except those needing college preparatory work. The evening school, previously attracting many unemployed, was discontinued for lack of funds. The Winthrop Teachers Association produced a play that earned $333.00 for unemployment relief.